culture and computing

Call for Papers

If you are having difficulty with understanding how to format your final papers, the CPS Editor of our conference is sending the correct specific formatting files for our conference below.

CPS Production Editor
Juan Guerrero
Email: jeguerrero[at]

If any you are having difficulty submitting both copyrights and your accepted papers, please forward any questions or concerns directly to the CPS Editor via email. Please include the conference's acronym (*CandC 2017*) in the subject field.

Culture and Computing is a new research area which aims to overcome different cultural issues in international communities using information and communication technologies (ICT). There are various research directions in the relations between culture and computing: to archive cultural heritages via ICT (cf. digital archives), to empower humanities researches via ICT (cf. digital humanities), to create art and expressions via ICT (cf. media art), to realize a culturally situated agent (cf. cultural agent), to support multi-language, multi-cultural societies via ICT (cf. intercultural collaboration), and to understand new cultures born in the Internet and Web (cf. net culture).

The International Conference on Culture and Computing provides an opportunity to share research issues and discuss the future of culture and computing, which was established in Kyoto, the cultural heart of Japan in 2010, and has been held once every two years in Kyoto, Japan since 2011. The conference is also held in even years when there is a voluntary host city (e.g., Culture and Computing 2012 in Hangzhou, China).

We invite submission to a wide range of venues including papers, posters, and demos. Submissions are solicited on any aspect on the intersection of culture and computing, but are expected to be suitable for a multidisciplinary audience. In Culture and Computing 2017, we especially encourage submissions on three topics: culture and computing for Tokyo Olympics, open data for culture and computing, and culture in social network. Other examples of suitable submission topics include:

  • Archiving cultural heritages
  • Information environments for humanity studies
  • Art and design by information technologies
  • Digital storytelling
  • Intercultural communication and collaboration
  • Culturally situated agents and simulations
  • Game and culture
  • Analysis of new culture in the Internet and Web
  • Culture and brain science
  • VR (virtual reality) application for culture
  • Digital libraries for cultural materials
  • Sound archiving of intangible cultural properties
  • Digital humanities
  • Culture based media art & music


There are three types of submissions: full papers (main track and organized sessions), posters and demos. For oral presentation, a full paper with the length of 6-8 pages should be submitted. For poster presentation, a poster paper with a limit of two pages should be submitted. For demonstration, an extended summary of the demo system should be submitted with a limit of two pages. All submissions will be reviewed by three distinguished researchers in the area of culture and computing. Accepted papers/posters/demos will appear in the conference proceedings published by Conference Publishing Services and will be submitted to the IEEE Computer Society Digital Library (CSDL).

Conference Publishing Services (CPS) enforces a "no show" policy and only papers that are presented by an author at the conference will be submitted for inclusion in the digital libraries. Authors will need to know if they can afford to attend when submitting their paper. After the conference the organizer will receive an inquiry from the production editor asking for any "no show" papers.

Submissions should be conducted with an abstract (150 words) via EasyChair. All submissions must be written in English in Conference Publishing Services (CPS)'s Standard template. Please refer to the conference website for more information.

The submissions should follow the formatting instructions for publishing with Conference Publishing Services (CPS)'s Standard template (Please choose the US letter type for the paper template).

Important Dates

The exact submission deadline time is set at 23: 59 of US Samoa on May 19th, 2017. Please use the following link for Samoa time confirmation: Current Local Time in Pago Pago, American Samoa

Papers (Main Track and Organized Sessions):
Deadline for titles and abstracts: May 1st, 2017 May 19th, 2017
Deadline for papers for review: May 8th, 2017 May 19th, 2017
Acceptance notification: June 17th, 2017 June 24th, 2017
Deadline for camera ready papers: July 7th, 2017 July 21st, 2017

Deadline for papers for review: May 1st, 2017 May 26th, 2017
Acceptance notification: June 17th, 2017 June 24th, 2017
Deadline for camera ready papers: July 7th, 2017 July 21st, 2017

Deadline for papers for review: May 26th, 2017
Acceptance notification: June 24th, 2017
Deadline for camera ready papers: July 7th, 2017 July 21st, 2017

Honorary Chair

Jin Mingzhe (Doshisha University, Japan)

General Co-Chairs

Kozaburo Hachimura (Ritsumeikan University, Japan)
Toru Ishida (Kyoto University, Japan)
Naoko Tosa (Kyoto University, Japan)

Program Co-Chairs

Mamiko Sakata (Doshisha University, Japan)
Donghui Lin (Kyoto University, Japan)
Akira Maeda (Ritsumeikan University, Japan)

Program Committee

Francisco Grimaldo Moreno (University of Valencia ,Spain)
Jens Allwood (IDÛ Interactive Inc, Sweden)
Timothy Bickmore (Northeastern University – Boston, USA)
Emmanuel G. Blanchard (IDÛ Interactive Inc., Canada)
Jean-Pierre Briot (CNRS, Brazil)
Anna Carbone (Polytechnic University of Turin, Italy )
Philippe Codognet (CNRS & University of Tokyo, Japan)
Nick Degens (Wageningen University, Netherlands)
Christiane Fellbaum (Princeton University, USA)
Rüdiger Heimgärtner (IUIC – Undorf, Germany)
Michitaka Hirose (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Gert Jan Hofstede (Wageningen University, Netherlands)
Jieh Hsiang (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
Katsushi Ikeuchi (Microsoft Corp., USA)
Jean Ippolito (University of Hawaii at Hilo, USA)
Lewis Johnson (Alelo Inc. USA)
Yasuhiro Katagiri (Future University Hakodate, Japan)
Tomoko Koda (Osaka Institue of Technology, Japan)
Sadao Kurohashi (Kyoto University, Japan)
Lydia Lau (University of Leeds, UK)
Michihiko Minoh (Kyoto University, Japan)
Shigeru Miyagawa (MIT, USA)
Shigeo Morishima (Waseda University, Japan)
Yohei Murakami (Kyoto University, Japan)
Ryohei Nakatsu (Kyoto University, Japan)
Atsushi Nakazawa (Kyoto University, Japan)
Shohei Nobuhara (Kyoto University, Japan)
Hiroaki Ohshima (University of Hyogo, Japan)
Masayuki Ohtani (Kindai University, Japan)
Yoshihiro Okada (Ryukoku University, Japan)
Masashi Okubo (Doshisha University, Japan)
Mario Paolucci (ISTC-CNR, Italy)
Jong-Il Park (Hanyang University, Korea)
Andrew Prescott (University of Glasgow, UK)
Walter Quattrociocchi (IMT School for Advanced Studies Lucca, Italy)
Matthias Rehm (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Geoffrey Rockwell (University of Alberta, Canada)
Kasper Rodil (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Tetsuo Sawaragi (Kyoto University, Japan)
Vibeke Sorensen (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
Virach Sornlertlamvanich (Thammasat University, Thailand)
Alistair Swale (University of Waikato, New Zealand)
Naomi Yamashita (NTT, Japan)
Yutaka Yamauchi (Kyoto University, Japan)